

Districts sustain Oregon's agriculture

- 73 irrigation districts exist throughout the state serving over 479,000 acres that are independent local governments and not part of a local city or county. An irrigation district may not include land that is located within a city or platted subdivision and chiefly available for residential purposes.
- Furnish and distribute irrigation water within district boundaries. May deliver and charge for surplus water outside district boundaries.
- Ditch riders monitor the many miles of irrigation ditches, drains, canals and laterals to ensure that all patrons get their water.
- Irrigation season normally runs from April 15th to October 15th, but water supply and weather conditions may result in a shortened or lengthened season.
- Governed by a five-member board of directors or by a three-member board of directors for a subdivided district. Board members must be a resident of Oregon and a bona fide owner or shareholder of a bona fide corporate owner of land within the district. Directors are elected in November and serve from the first Tuesday in January. Terms are decided by lot.
- District board is completely responsible for personnel administration, financial administration, and seeing that the requirements of laws governing areas ranging from public records and public meetings to civil rights are met.
- Authorized to levy and collect assessments.